HOLLYWOOD BRANCH DETAILED CALENDAR:

2019 – 2020 

 

August 2019
August 16, Friday

Summer Board Meeting at 10am at Lieschen’ Studio

4745 Cromwell Ave, LA 90027

 

September 2019

September 2, Monday Labor Day
September 18, Wednesday Program Chairs meeting at 10 am Hasmik Kotelyan’s Studio,

916 W. Burbank Blvd., Burbank, CA 91506

September 18, Wednesday Mandatory CM Information Meeting (choose one) at 11am

at Hasmik Kotelyan’s Studio, 916 W. Burbank Blvd., Burbank, CA 91506

September 20, Friday Application deadline for Fall Festival (Chair Grigor Akopyan)
September 22, Sunday Mandatory CM Information Meeting (choose one) at 2pm Hasmik Kotelyan’s Studio, 916 W. Burbank Blvd., Burbank, CA 91506

 October 2019

October 1, Tuesday Certificate of Merit online enrollment Opens (www.new.mtac.org) Enter student repertoire online and apply for convention consideration
October 6, Sunday SCJBF Complete Works Audition from 8:30am to 5pm

California State University, Long Beach

October 10, Thursday General Meeting at 10am at Lieschen’s  Studio

4745 Cromwell Ave LA 90027

October 14, Monday Columbus Day
October 19, Saturday SCJBF Complete Works Awards Concert at 2pm

Covenant Presbyterian Church, 607 E. 3rd Street, Long Beach 90802

October 20, Sunday Fall Recital at Santa Monica Blvd Fenton Charter School

1022 N. Van Ness Ave. LA 90038

October 25, Friday Board Meeting at 10am at Lieschen’s Studio

4745 Cromwell Ave LA 90027

October 31, Wednesday Certificate of Merit online enrollment closes

 

 

November 2019

November 5 CM Parents payment due date  (www.new.mtac.org)
November 3, Sunday Daylight savings ends
November 11, Monday Veterans’ Day
November 15, Friday Applications Deadline for Winterfest Competition
November 20, Wednesday Board Meeting at 10am at Lieschen’s Studio

4745 Cromwell Ave LA 90027

November 28, Thursday Thanksgiving

 

December 2019

December 1, 2019, Sunday Southern California Bach Festival online enrollment opens (www.scjbf.org)
December 15, 2019 Winterfest Competition

at Cammilleri Hall, USC, 3620 McClintock Ave., LA 90089

December 19, Thursday Applications deadline for Sonata/Sonatina Competition
December 25, Wednesday Christmas Day

 

 

January 2020

January 2, Thursday CM Online opens for special requests (accompanists and carpools)
January 15, Wednesday CM online repertoire entries and placement special requests Closes
January 17, Friday General Meeting at Hasmik’s Burbank Studio – 916 W. Burbank Blvd., Burbank, CA 91506

10am

Presentation by Dr. Alan Oettinger:

“Preparing students for the CM Theory Exam”

January 19, Sunday SCJBF  Piano and Strings Masterclass –

with William Wellborn and Ken Aiso;  12 noon to 5pm

Loyola Marymount University, 1 University Drive, LA 91741

January 19, Sunday

 

Sonata/Sonatina Competition

at LA Valley College Music Building, 5800 Fulton Ave. Van Nuys, 91401

 

February 2020

February 12, Wednesday Lincoln’s Birthday
February 17, Monday President’s Day
February 20, Thursday

refreshments will be served

 

 

General/Board Meeting at 10am

Riko Method School of Piano, 3363 Glendale Blvd.,LA 90039.

Performance and Discussion by YAG member, Noah Simon

Learn about the pathway leading to the prestigious Young Artist Guild through the CM program

 

March 2020

March 5, Thursday Applications deadline for Bach Festival thru  www.scjbf.org

Application deadline for Baroque Festival thru www.mtachollywood.org

March 8, Sunday Daylight Savings Time Begins
March 21, Saturday Branch Certificate of Merit Evaluations at UCLA,

Schoenberg Music Bldg., 445 Charles E Young Dr. E, LA 90095

Cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

 April 2019

April 1, Wednesday Applications Deadline for Scholarships and Awards
April 1, Wednesday General Meeting at 10 am at Lieschen’s Studio

(CM result packages made available; Teachers will present their students to be considered for an Award or Scholarship)

a light lunch around 11:30am

4745 Cromwell Ave LA 90027

Cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

April 1, Wednesday at 11am “Hollywood Branch Morning of Sharing” video conference

for all branch members  –  please join us online

April 3, Friday Applications deadline for Spring Festival

Cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

April 5, Sunday Bach Festival and Baroque Festival

at Pierre’s Fine Pianos, 11039 W. Pico Blvd., LA 90064

Cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

April 6, Monday Online Branch Board Meeting at 11am
April 8, Wednesday 64th Anniversary of our Hollywood Branch
April 10, Friday Good Friday
April 12, Sunday Easter Sunday
April 17, Friday Board Meeting at 10am at Lieschen’s Studio

(Selection of Scholarship and Awards recipients)

4745 Cromwell Ave LA 90027

Rescheduled due to Coronavirus outbreak

Meeting conducted via online video conference on April 6

April 24, Friday “Morning of Sharing” video conference

for all branch members  –  please join us online at 11am

April 26, Sunday Bach Masterclass – with Carl Matthes at 2pm

Riko Method School of Piano, 3363 Glendale Blvd.,LA 90039.

Cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

May 2020

May 3, Sunday Spring Festival at

Santa Monica Blvd Fenton Charter School

1022 N. Van Ness Ave. LA 90038

cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

May 3, Sunday SCJBF All-Branch Winds/Voice Regional Festival starting at 1pm

Citrus College, 1000 West Foothill Bl., Glendora 91741

cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

May 7, Thursday Applications Deadline for Achievement Awards Recital

Cancelled

 May 7, Thursday Online Board Meeting at 10:30 am via Zoom

 

May 8, Friday Online General Meeting focusing on CM at 11am

via Zoom

May 10, Sunday Mothers’ day
May 15, Friday Deadline for “Early Bird Registration” discount for MTAC 2019 Convention

Cancelled.  Convention will be online at no cost to teachers

May 17, Sunday Bach Regional

at Pierre’s Fine Pianos, 11039 W. Pico Blvd., LA 90064

cancelled due to Coronavirus

May 25, Monday Memorial Day
May 29, Friday Online General Meeting focusing on CM at 11am

via Zoom

  

June 2020

June 3, Wednesday Hollywood Branch Annual Meeting (General Meeting)

Speaker/Performance plus Potluck Lunch

at 10am at Lieschen’s Studio

4745 Cromwell Ave LA  90027

postponed to possibly sometime during the summer

date will be announced

Thursday, June 4th thru 14th CM Virtual Evaluations

Upload performance Videos and repertoire PDF

June 7, Sunday Achievement Awards Recital at LA Valley College

Music Building, 5800 Fulton Ave. Van Nuys, 91401

cancelled due to Coronavirus outbreak

June 15, Monday Online Board Meeting at 11 am
June 21, Sunday Fathers’ Day
June 28, Sunday Virtual Recital Series at 3pm

 

July 2020

July 3 – 7 MTAC Convention at Hilton, Los Angeles Airport

to be conducted online

July 10, Friday Finance Committee Meeting
July 12, Sunday Virtual Recital Series
July 15, Wednesday deadline for submitting CM online theory exam
July 31, Wednesday Last day to join or renew MTAC membership to participate in

Certificate of Merit 2021 (www.mtac.org)

July 31, Wednesday End of Financial Year.
 

 

 August 2020

August 9, Sunday Virtual Recital with focus on Jazz and African American music
August 17, Monday

Summer Board Meeting at 10am at Lieschen’s Studio

4745 Cromwell Ave, LA Ca 900027